a soul cal disco special

Egon's Radio Nova Mix - A Soul Cal Disco Special

France’s Radio Nova just broadcast Egon’s exclusive Soul Cal mix stream it below or via Radio Nova’s podcast page. Included in the mix are a few unique companions to our definitive survey of America’s best, independent, 70s soul-ensembles, “Soul Cal” in stores now.

[haiku url=”http://www.novaplanet.com/documents/podcast/48615_2012-04-12_168.mp3″ title=”Egon’s Radio Nova Mix – A Soul Cal Disco Special”]

Egon’s Radio Nova Mix – A Soul Cal Disco Special

1. Anubis – Anubis
2. Cross Bronx Expressway – Help Your Brother
3. Apple & Three Oranges – Love Brings Out The Best In You
4. Hamilton Movement – She’s Gone
5. Key & Cleary – What It Takes To Live (from Soul Cal)
6. Mixed Feelings – Sha La La (from Soul Cal)
7. Elephant Sunrise – Sugar Free
8. Courtial – Losing You
9. Pure Essence – Wake Up (from Soul Cal)

Support: Now Again Records | Radio Nova

original raw soul III

original raw soul III

The collective that includes the Poets of Rhythm, Whitefield Brothers and Karl Hector & The Malcouns presents ” Original Raw Soul III” in a series of rare funk, jazz, soul and world-psych singles compiled as an album. The album is now available on Now Again (more info here). Download the track “Money for Born Money for Die” by Transgressors for free here.

[haiku url=”http://nowagainrecords.com/up/MoneyForBornMoneyForDie.mp3″ title=”Transgressors – Money for Born Money for Die”]

Transgressors – Money for Born Money for Die

Support: Poets Of Rhythm // Whitefields Brothers // Karl Hector & The Malcouns

deep sounds from the left of stax

True Soul, Deep Sound from the left of Stax Vol. 1

“True Soul, Deep Sounds From The Left Of Stax – Volume 1”
is now ready for purchasing. The CD/DVD of Vol. 1 – and the deluxe,
4 LP vinyl box set – will be available in an exclusive pre-sale at
Stones Throw in late June, and will be available worldwide on July 26th.

[haiku url=”http://nowagainrecords.com/up/ThomasEastSlippingAround.mp3″ title=”Thomas East – Slipping Around (45 Version)”]

Thomas East – Slipping Around (45 Version)

santa claus go straight to the ghetto

Thomas East - Santa Claus Go Straight To The Ghetto

Enjoy Thomas East‘s cover version of James Brown’s “Santa Claus Go
Straight To The Ghetto”Found via Now-Again!

[audio:http://blog.bklyn.de/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/thomas-east-santa-claus-go-straight-to-the-ghetto.mp3|titles=Thomas East – Santa Claus Go Straight To The Ghetto]

Thomas East – Santa Claus Go Straight To The Ghetto

[audio:http://blog.bklyn.de/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/james-brown-santa-claus-go-straight-to-the-ghetto.mp3|titles=James Brown – Santa Claus Go Straight To The Ghetto]

James Brown – Santa Claus Go Straight To The Ghetto

dark sunrise

dark sunrise

Now-Again presents “Dark Sunrise”, an anthology of Zambian “Zamrock” godfather Rikki Ililonga and his groundbreaking band Musi-O-Tunya. Order via Stones Throw.

[audio:http://blog.bklyn.de/wp-content/uploads/2010/11/musi-o-tunya-dark-sunrise.mp3|titles=Rikki Ililonga – Dark Sunrise]

Rikki Ililonga – Dark Sunrise

we sleep on stones

Now-Again is giving away an exclusive download of the instrumental
to Mr. Chop‘s remix of Cherry Ghost’s ‘We Sleep On Stones’ – featuring
Heliocentrics Malcolm Catto on drums and Jake Ferguson on bass.
His remix will be on the first 12″ release from Cherry Ghost’s forthcoming
‘Beneath This Burning Shoreline‘ album on Heavenly Records and will
be in stores in early November.

[audio:http://blog.bklyn.de/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/cherry-ghost-we-sleep-on-stones-mr-chop-inst.mp3|titles=Cherry Ghost – We Sleep On Stones (Mr Chop Remix) (Instrumental)]

Cherry Ghost – We Sleep On Stones (Mr Chop Remix) (Instrumental)

label love (free album)

Label Love is an eclectic yet unified bundle of unique sounds compiled simply for the love of sharing them with the universe – each track plucked and presented by label heads from Bastard Jazz, ESL, Fania, Now Again, Plug Research, Tru Thoughts and Ubiquity.

Free Download here.

1. Quantic Presenta Flowering Inferno – Dog With A Rope 03:13
2. Kako & Orchestra – Shingaling Shingaling (Azuquita) 04:32
3. Shawn Lee and Bing Ji Ling – Who Are You 03:18
4. Paul White – Ancient Treasure 01:53
5. Shafiq Husayn feat. Bilal – Cheeba (Nottz Remix) 04:08
6. Ancient Astronauts – Put Em Up 04:12
7. Mophono’s Halftone Society – Bumps 03:02
8. Belleruche – 56% Proof 04:29
9. Nickodemus – 2 Sips and Magic (2cnd Sky/ Thomas Blondet Remix) 04:37
10. Markolino Dimond con Frankie Dante – Sabroson 04:26
11. DJ Center – Center’s Groove (Captain Planet Remix) 03:52
12. Dimlite – Can’t Get Used To Those (Afterlude) 01:30
13. Twilight – Dance With Me 03:58
14. Quadron – Average Fruit 04:26