golden rules | golden ticket


The duo Golden Rules, which consists of producer Paul White and vocalist Eric Biddines, are about to drop their debut album “Golden Ticket”. One of their first released songs ‘Never Die’ features verses by Yasiin Bey aka Mos Def. Along with the new song, Golden Rules also shared the official tracklist for the upcoming LP that drops 7th August, which you can check out below.

Available for pre-order on Bandcamp.

Continue reading

yasiin gaye


Amerigo Gazaway‘s new “Soul Mates” series continues the theme of his previous work in creating collaborations that never were. On the series’ first installment, the producer unites Brooklyn rapper Yasiin Bey (Formerly Mos Def) and soul legend Marvin Gaye for a dream collaboration aptly titled “Yasiin Gaye”. Building the album’s foundation from deconstructed samples of Gaye’s Motown classics, Gazaway re-orchestrates the instrumentation into new productions within a similar framework. Carefully weaving Bey’s dense raps and Gaye’ soulful vocals over his new arrangements, the producer delivers a quality far closer to Gaye’s famous duets than that of a “mashup” album. Look out for the full album on February 25th!

Continue reading

they die by dawn


Jeymes Samuel and his musical ensemble The Bullitts bring forth the title track “They Die By Dawn” to their debut album “They Die By Dawn and Other Short Stories”. Featuring Yasiin Bey aka Mos Def, Jay Electronica and Lucy Liu also adds a fitting narration to the track. Release date is set for June 4.

Continue reading



misc. = we’re playing miscellaneous tunes, from jazz, soul to hip-hop the base genre of bklyn. something new mixed with well known classics to comfort your eardrums. the event is planned to take place twice a month at munichs yip yab. first date is next week 20th march (event link). Enjoy the teaser jazz/hip-hop fusion mix …

Misc. by Bklyn on Mixcloud


Robert Glasper- Black Radio Recovered

The Robert Glasper Experiment‘s new EP “Black Radio Recovered” comes with remix versions by Pete Rock, 9th Wonder, Georgia Anne Muldrow, Questlove and Jewels. You can now listen to Pete Rock’s remix of “Black Radio” featuring Yasiin Bey, 9th Wonder’s “Afro Blue” featuring Erykah Badu and Georgia Anne Muldrow’s “The Consequences of Jealousy” featuring Meshell Ndegeocello. Release date is October 9th on Blue Note, pre-order via iTunes.

1. Afro Blue (feat. Erykah Badu) (9th Wonder Remix feat. Phonte)
2. Black Radio (feat. Yasiin Bey) (Pete Rock Remix)
3. The Consequences of Jealousy (feat. Meshell Ndegeocello) (Georgia Anne Muldrow Remix)
4. Twice (?uestlove Remix (feat. Solange Knowles & The Roots)
5. Letter to Hermione (feat. Bilal) (Robert Glasper & Jewels Remix feat. Black Milk)
6. Dillatude #2

Support: Official | Facebook | Soundcloud | Twitter

the tricks of the street vol. 3

bklyn - various artists - tricks of the street vol. 3

“The Tricks Of The Street Vol. 3” is one hour of finest hip-hop tracks by artists such as Asheru, LMNO & Kev Brown, Beastie Boys, JBrown & the Mic Smith, Nottz, Suff Daddy, JJ DOOM, Oh No, Busta Rhymes, Planet Asia, Ski Beatz, Afu Ra, Consequence, Homeboy Sandman, Torae, Astro, Substantial, Mos Def & The Expressions. Listen on Mixcloud or stream below.

01 Asheru – Live At Home (feat. Blue Black)
02 LMNO & Kev Brown – Ya Know
03 Beastie Boys – Too Many Rappers (feat. Nas) (Urban Noize Remix)
04 JBrown & the Mic Smith – Cookin’ Soul
05 Nottz – Turn It Up (feat. Pete Rock)
06 Suff Daddy – Kill Bill
08 Oh No – Beware (feat. Cali Agents)
09 Busta Rhymes – Make It Look Easy (feat. Gucci Mane)
10 Planet Asia – Golden State
11 Ski Beatz – Fly High (feat. Smoke DZA and Terri Walker)
12 Afu Ra – Equality (feat. Ky-Mani)
13 Consequence – 1st Time (feat. Talib Kweli)
14 Homeboy Sandman – Watchu Want from Me?
15 Torae – For The Record
16 Astro – Underdogs (feat. MED)
17 Substantial – Reloaded (feat. Homeboy Sandman and Javier Starks)
18 Mos Def & The Expressions – Honey Beef (Steely Chan Mash)
Visit bklyn’s Cloudcast to stream more mixes.