DJM Trio | Cave Art Two

DJM trio breathes fierce artistry into grooved out renditions of Solange, Patrice Rushen, Slum Village, Madvillain, Ohbliv and more. It’s upon this precipice that Dominic James Marshall makes his mark, at the helm and on the keys of Cave Art Two – a slate of scintillating digital sounds, spontaneously arranged, etched in wax. The project is a thoughtful and inventive response to a long tradition of musical sampling.

The DJM Trio is led by Dominic James Marshall, an Amsterdam native who is a current member of renowned British nu-jazz and electronic outfit The Cinematic Orchestra. A rising jazz piano star, Marshall was nominated for the Edison International Jazz Award, and the trio earned a coveted set at BBC’s Manchester Jazz Festival, as unanimously selected by a jury including Gilles Peterson, Jamie Cullum and Jez Nelson.

Continue reading

favourite things | 11.17


favourite things 11.17 Om, ADB & DRB of Drumetrics, Noya Rao, Jitwam., Flockey Ocscor, Feelgood Experiment, Poppy Ajudha, Oscar Jerome, Darkhouse Family, Mick Jenkins, Blue Lab Beats feat. OthaSoul & Daniel Taylor, KALA, Nubya Garcia, EABS, Evidence, WESTSIDE GUNN & MF Doom Remix by Je$u$, Talib Kweli feat. Anderson .Paak, Madvillain & Four Tet, Kojey Radical feat. Shae, SiR & ScHoolboyQ, Jaze Baqti, Gabriel Garzón-Montano feat. Little Simz, Hello Skinny.

Continue reading

rough, rugged and raw

“Rough, Rugged and Raw” is number one in our new hip-hop mixtape series ALL CAPS. 45 minutes of massive hip hop tracks by artists such as MED, Flying Lotus, Madlib, Quakers, Jaylib, Dudley Perkins, Freddie Gibbs, J Rocc and more. Tracklist below, more information on soundcloud.

01 MED – Now U Know
02 DIBIA$E – Supa Guilty
03 Flying Lotus & Declaime – Lit Up (Instrumental)
04 Oh No – Paper Runs
05 Dudley Perkins – Dollar Bill
06 Strong Arm Steady – Charlie Hustle
07 Guilty Simpson – The Ghetto
08 Quakers – Fitta Happier
09 DaveNotti – Make Em’ NV
10 Rhettmatic – Do It (feat. MED)
11 Suff Daddy – Brewsters
12 Fid Mella – Don’t Care
13 Jaylib – React (Instrumental)
14 J Dilla – The Red 3
15 Madvillain – Meat Grinder
16 MF DOOM – Ma Huang (Instrumental)
17 Madlib – Untitled 13 (feat. MF DOOM)
18 J.Rocc & MED’s – Salute (feat. WildChild)
19 Madlib – Rebirth Cycle (Super Soul)
20 Freddie Gibbs & Madlib – The Morning After

avalanche & victory lap

Madvillain 2011

Listen to the new track “Avalanche & Victory Lap” of Madvillain,
released on Stones Throw Podcast #64 … more on Stones Throw.

[audio:|titles=Madvillain – Avalanche & Victory Lap]

Madvillain – Avalanche & Victory Lap

[audio:|titles=Madvillain – Papermill]

Madvillain – Papermill

stones throw 2011 mixed by pb wolf


Listen to Peanut Butter Wolf‘s 50-minute mix of current & upcoming
Stones Throw Records for 2011 … sneak peak at some new Madvillain.
Subscribe and Download free on iTunes.

Stones Throw Records Website

Tracklist 01 Madvillain: Avalanche & Victory Lap / 02 Madlib: Two from Rock Konducta / 03 MED: Even Though & Play with You / 04 Dam-Funk feat. GT: Rest in Peace / 05 Dam-Funk: I Wanna Do Some Things Wit U / 06 Steve Arrington: Good Feeling & Higher / 07 Jonti Dan AKA Danimals: Hornets Nest & Christmas Worm / 08 The Stepkids: Shadows on Behalf & La La / 09 James Pants: Kathleen & Beta / 10 Vex Ruffin: Walking Sideways & Avalanche / 11 Myron & E: Let Me See You Do It & On Broadway / 12 CX Kidtronik feat. Jon Wayne: The Buddykrak / 13 CX Kidtronik feat. 4 5th: She’s A Murderer / 14 J. Rocc: Rocchead’s Delight & Supersound / 15 Anika: Terry & No One’s There / 16 Mayer Hawthorne: Drums (Demo) / 17 Bryant K Steward: Daisy’s Grow / 18 Unknown Artist: Same Thing Tomorrow