jaimeo brown transcendence | work songs


Echoes of the past meet visions of the future on “Work Songs”, the follow up to Jaimeo Brown Transcendence’s arresting 2013 self-titled debut. From recordings of prisoners in Mississippi to stonemasons in Japan, the album brings renewed life to historical work songs through a mixture of powerfully evocative samples and new recordings. Comprised of drummer/producer Jaimeo Brown and guitarist/producer Chris Sholar, Jaimeo Brown Transcendence deftly weaves together the acoustic and the digital, compellingly connecting jazz and blues with contemporary rock, hip-hop and electronic music.
Stream the album “Work Songs” below, available on Bandcamp.

gary clark jr. | the story of sonny boy slim


Grammy Award-winning singer, songwriter and guitarist Gary Clark Jr. will release his second full-length studio LP, on September 11th via Warner Bros. Records. The follow-up to his 2012 debut, “Blak and Blu”, is entitled “The Story Of Sonny Boy Slim”, and it is the uncanny evolution of an artist embracing his roots with a rarified grace, style, and an inextinguishable passion which reflects his vision as a songwriter, and the vocal force of nature he has become, while his guitar virtuosity already speaks for itself.

Listen to Gary Clark Jr.’s new singles “The Healing” and “Grinder” below and pre-order the record on iTunes or Amazon.

Continue reading

pushin’ against a stone


New York and Tennessee based singer/songwriter Valerie June finally released her new album, “Pushin’ Against A Stone”. Dan Auerbach of The Black Keys helped her with songwriting and production. Enjoy her blues, folk and country music. Available now on Amazon or iTunes.

Support: Official | Facebook | Soundcloud | YouTube | Twitter



Kwabena Adjepong aka Kwabs is a Ghanaian-born and London resident singer. He recently released some cover songs, there’s a special version of James Blake’s ‘The Wilhem Scream’. ‘Spirit Fade’ is a synthy-based and acoustic guitar sample song, listen below.

Support: Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | YouTube | tumblr

valerie june

Valerie June - Pushin’ Against a Stone

Valerie June‘s highly anticipated forthcoming debut album ‘Pushin’ Against A Stone’ will be out on May 6th. The album was produced by Dan Auerbach and Kevin Augunas and will be released through Rob da Bank’s stellar boutique label Sunday Best, home to David Lynch and Kitty Daisy and Lewis to name a few. The singles ‘Workin’ Woman Blues’ and ‘You Can’t Be Told’ are both available on iTunes.

Support: Official | Facebook | Soundcloud | YouTube | Twitter

sure thing

Sure Thing - Blues Mix by bklyn

“Sure Thing” is a blues-mix i first created for a friend of bklyn. I decided to put it online for your listening pleasure. The mix contains songs by well known Blues singers such as Junior Wells, Canned Heat & John Lee Hooker, Muddy Waters, Jimmy Hendrix, B.B. King, Louis Armstrong, T-Bone Walker and Billy Holiday. Hope you enjoy.

01 Intro
02 Albert King – Cold Feet
03 Sonny Boy Williamson – Bring It On Home
04 Big Joe Williams – Highway 49
05 Junior Wells – Good Morning Schoolgirl
06 Ollis Martin – Police And High Sheriff Come Ridin’ Down
07 Skip James – Hard Time Killin’ Floor Blues
08 Howlin’ Wolf – Spoonful
09 Canned Heat & John Lee Hooker – I Got My Eyes On You
10 John Lee Hooker – I’m Bad Like Jesse James
11 John Lee Hooker & Jimmie Vaughn – Boom Boom
12 Muddy Waters – I’ve Got My Mojo Working (Live)
13 Lowell Fulson – Reconsider Baby
14 Jimmy Hendrix – Red House
15 Little Walter – Juke
16 B.B. King  – The Thrill Is Gone
17 Louis Armstrong – St. James Infirmary
18 T-Bone Walker – Call It Stormy Monday
19 Helen Humes – Blues Ain’t Nothing But A Woman
20 Robert Johnson – I Believe I’ll Dust My Broom
21 Billy Holiday – Did I Remember
22 Ma Rainey – CC Rider Blues

a kind of blues

Joel Van Dijk - A Kind Of Blues

Joel Van Dijk‘s album “A Kind Of Blues” comes with a cover version of Aloe Blacc’s “I Need A Dollar”. Aloe features the Bill Withers classic “Ain’t No Sunshine”. Stream and purchase the album on Bandcamp.

Support: Official | Facebook | Soundcloud | Bandcamp | Twitter

12 bit blues

kid koala - 12 bit blues

Kid Koala returns with his new album “12 bit Blues” in September 2012. Never one to make the music making process easy on himself, Kid Koala finally realizes his child-hood dream of owning SP1200’s, and in the process tackles the stripped down blues tradition with the machines that spawned the golden age of hip-hop (and keeps floppy disks alive!). Pre-order available via the Ninjashop. Get a free download of “5 bit Blues” here.

Support: Official | Facebook | Bandcamp | Soundcloud | Ninja Tune